California Gold!

I went down to the Mokelumne River park near my house the other week with my wife and dogs and to my surprise, the water was so low that where the water is usually a rushing torrent, I could walk across!

In one of the pools in the middle I found this old limestone that probably hasn’t been reachable for a long time!

I love the mountain peak and lake it has and especially the “slide” down the front!

I cut it and made a Jatoba (Brazilian cherry) wood daiza for it.

The natural “gold” of the daiza brings out the gold color streaks in the limestone that come from our water up here with a lot of iron in it. This is a very hard and heavy limestone piece.

Hope you all enjoy it as much as I do!

DSCF8970 DSCF8974 DSCF8971 DSCF8972 DSCF8973 DSCF9029 DSCF9030 DSCF9031

About artofthedaiza

Daiza maker and Bonsai Stand maker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to California Gold!

  1. John Laugenour says:

    Wow! How in the world did you get it home? Love it. Reminds of the piece we have which came from Thailand.

    Sent from John’s iPad

    >

  2. Dan Balsley says:

    Jerry

    Cool Stone.

    Dan

  3. mfm1956 says:

    Absolutely beautiful. What a find. A hidden gem just waiting for it’s new journey. You are fortunate to have been the one to give it a new home.

  4. Helen Engledow says:

    Jerry,

    What a beauty, and what a rarity. Absolutely stunning.

    Helen Engledow

  5. Topaz says:

    Beautiful. I love the ‘creek’ flowing down Moke peak.

Leave a comment